Growing Upwards

I remember arguing with my mom, probably at 13 years old, about how I was going to be punk rock forever.  I would always have pink and purple hair, I didn’t care about money, I would never work for a corporation… I had ethics and morals!  I would always play guitar and love music more than anything else.

I turned 30 this year.  I am still struggling with what it means to be an adult and maintain some of my personal ethos that carried me along in my formative years.  I haven’t dyed my hair since 2007.  I don’t listen to punk rock anymore.  And I’m starting to feel the financial pinch.  I have credit card debt and student loans.  But what I desire out of life has also changed.

Maybe you are aware of the TV show House Hunters International.  I am obsessed with it!  It combines two my favorite current dreams: to own a home and travel abroad.  I love traveling abroad (you can read about my travels at A Broad Abroad).

So what is it that I really want out of life?  What will ultimately make me happy?  I don’t think there’s an easy answer.  I will probably change my mind a million times in the next ten years.  But I think it’s great to have goals and work towards them.

Okay, so I want a house.  What next?

I have this vinyl record collection.  I love it.  I cherish it.  I move it around from city to city.  That’s no easy task!  I started collecting in Chicago, then Seattle where I worked at Easy Street Records, then Los Angeles where I worked at Amoeba Music, and now in New York City.  Plus I have all of my parents old records.  I have a pretty decent sized collection.

But I don’t listen to my records as much as I used to.  I’ve stopped caring that some record was a limited pressing of 250 numbered on yellow vinyl.  It doesn’t make me tingly inside to know that these little discs are so special.  And they are special!

So, I’ve decided to start selling off my record collection.  It’s hard!  I sold a few albums over the summer, and every time I decided to list one on eBay, I had to listen to it all the way through to make sure I was ready to part with it.  But with the few records I sold, I made over $300.  These are some of them.

Image  Image  Image Image  Image  Image

This has become an emotional process for me, so someone told me to start writing a blog about how sad it is to part with my records in order to save up for a house.  My records have brought me great joy and many nights spent drinking with friends and relaxing on the couch.  But I think I am finally ready to part with my collection.

So this blog will be an exploration in the emotional collapse of a record collector.  I will blog about how I feel when I listen to a record for the last time.  Whether or not I feel comfortable parting with any certain album.  You will be able to see what albums I have for sale on eBay and how close I am to reaching my goal of $50,000 for a down payment on a house.  You can even make a contribution to my account if you feel sorry for me!

Hello, 2013!  Take my records!  But first, enjoy my favorite cuts of 2012 (Spotify playlist).  These are my favorite 25 in the order of a mix.

1. fun. – Some Nights
2. B.o.B. – So Good
3. Ellie Goulding – Lights
4. Santigold – The Riot’s Gone
5. Gotye (feat. Kimbra) – Somebody That I Used to Know
6. Dwight Yoakam – It’s Never Alright
7. The Lumineers – Ho Hey
8. Japandroids – The House that Heaven Built
9. Neon Trees – Everybody Talks
10. The Black Keys – Lonely Boy
11. Bethurum (feat. Nouela) – Watch It Burn
12. Dr. John – Big Shot
13. Juliet Simms – It’s A Man’s, Man’s, Man’s World
14. Kanye West, Big Sean, Pusha T, 2 Chainz – Mercy
15. Madonna (feat. Nicki Minaj) – I Don’t Give A
16. Alex Clare – Too Close
17. Metric – Clone
18. Spencer & Antfood – Trek
19. Lana Del Rey – Blue Jeans
20. Justin Bieber – Die In Your Arms
21. Passion Pit – Take A Walk
22. Sky Ferreira – Everything is Embarrassing
23. Bruno Mars – Locked Out of Heaven
24. The Raveonettes – Curse the Night
25. Fiona Apple – Hot Knife

Watch my savings grow!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

