Far

regina-spektor-far

REGINA SPEKTOR – FAR
Buy this record!

I am very susceptible to suggestion when it comes to music.  It’s not because I’m not opinionated… believe me, I am very opinionated!  But at heart, I want to like everything.  When I was in 6th grade, The Cranberries were on MTV doing an interview for their debut album, Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?, and I bought their CD.  My brother used to drive us to the crappy record store next to the TCBY after school to buy CDs.  There were always free Insane Clown Posse demo tapes on the counter.  After I bought the Cranberries’ CD, we got back in his red Jetta and I said, “I can’t wait to hear this band!”  Imagine my brother’s incredulity to find out I had never even heard the band whose album I just paid for!  But that’s me.  I want to believe that everything is good and I will like everything.  I always take a chance.

MTV can no longer influence my purchases, but friends have a huge impact on my wallet.  I would say at least 25% of my collection is from a purchase where a friend told me an album was good.  And not just casually–often fervent adoration of an artist.  As I’ve grown older, I have accepted that I can like something a friend loves and I don’t have to also love it.

“Okay, Jayme!  But what’s the point?!?”

Right!  So my friend Steven loves Regina Spektor.  Loves.  LOVES Regina Spektor.  It’s infectious how much he loves Regina Spektor.  I remembering hearing “Fidelity” and thinking, “huh, I like that Russian gal.”  But you can’t help but listen harder when a friend like Steven makes his case.  And damnit, I really like Regina Spektor now!  I mean, I cut my teeth on Tori Amos and Fiona Apple, so why would I not like another weird girl with a piano?

But here’s the thing: Steven loves Regina Spektor, and I like her.  Far is a fantastic album.  Perhaps even better than Begin to Hope.  There are a lot of good songs here!  I forgot how many of the songs are memorable and beautiful.  I enjoy this record, but it’s time to say…

Goodbye, Far.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

